Emil Viklicky Trio - Sinfonietta: The Janacek of Jazz (2009)

User Rating: / 0

Emil Viklicky Trio - Sinfonietta: The Janacek of Jazz (2009)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. The Forlorn Peach Tree
02. When I Walked
03. A Bird Flew Over
04. Gone With Water
05. In The Mists
06. Touha
07. My Lover is Leaving Me
08. Fanoshu
09. Sweet Basil
10. She Was Walking Meadow
11. Jenufa Act2.Scene 8
12. Sinfonietta

Emil Viclicky - Piano
George Mraz - Bass
Lewis Nash - Drums
Laco Tropp - Drums (on Sinfonietta)


Folk melodies have inspired many jazz musicians around the world to meld the improvisational and rhythmic flairs of jazz with local traditions to create something new. We have seen Toshiko Akiyoshi do so with Japanese folk songs and Jan Lundgren with Swedish melodies. Emil Viklicky of the Czech Republic (b. 1948) stands out among them as an adapter of Moravian songs to jazz.

Described by one critic as "the Janacek of jazz," Viklicky has extensively studied the music and methods of Leos Janacek (1854-1928), one of the four great Czech composers along with Smetana, Dvorak and Martinu. He has studied at Berklee School of Music and his individualistic piano style is informed by Wynton Kelly, Bill Evans and Bud Powell. On this Japanese debut CD, Viklicky uses Janacek's and his own compositions--all based on or inspired by Moravian songs--as vehicles for his unique adaptation and improvisation.

Supporting him in a trio format is his countryman, long-time collaborator and bass virtuoso George Mraz, and first-rate drummer Lewis Nash. This is a truly unique blend of music: the mood is often melancholic and languid, the harmonies are subtle and complex, and melodies strikingly beautiful. The levels of musicianship and interaction are extremely high. It may not appear exciting at a casual glance, but attentive listeners will be richly rewarded. Recommended! --- eastwindimport.com

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega mediafire solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru oboom



Last Updated (Friday, 10 July 2015 16:49)