Chick Corea - Tone's For Joan's Bones (1966)

User Rating: / 0

Chick Corea - Tone's For Joan's Bones (1966)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01 - Litha
02 - This Is New
03 - Tone's For Joan's Bones
04 - Straight Up And Down

    Chick Corea – piano
    Woody Shaw – trumpet
    Joe Farrell – tenor Saxophone, flute
    Steve Swallow – double Bass
    Joe Chambers – drums


Tones for Joan's Bones, Chick Corea's first session as a leader, is a blazing, advanced hard bop set from late 1966, with writing that reveals an affinity with McCoy Tyner's seminal hard bop structures from this period. Tenor player Joe Farrell and trumpeter Woody Shaw are ideal for this music. They deliver virtuoso performances that are both visceral and cerebral. Steve Swallow, while later focusing exclusively on electric bass, often with a melodic, impressionistic approach, is pure thunder here. In a blindfold test his acoustic bass could be mistaken for Buster Williams'. Drummer Joe Chambers is all relentless, propulsive energy, but subtle too. Corea is a torrent of harmonic and melodic imagination, couched in unerring rhythm. Anybody with an interest in this vital and exciting period will find this session indispensable. ---Ji8m Todd, Rovi

download: uploaded 4shared mega yandex gett mediafire


Last Updated (Monday, 18 August 2014 16:27)