Lee Morgan - Dizzy Athmosphere (1957)

User Rating: / 0

Lee Morgan - Dizzy Athmosphere (1957)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

01. Dishwater (take 4) 12:05
02. Someone I Know (take 6) 3:59
03. D. D. T. (take 5) 4:04
04. Whisper Not (take 5) 5:55
05. About Time (take 5) 3:14
06. Day By Day (take 2) 3:26
07. Rite Of Swing (take 3) 3:14
08. Over The Rainbow (take 4) 4:18
09. Someone I Know (previously unreleased, take 3, alternate) 4:07
10. Whisper Not (previously unreleased, take 3-, alternate) 6:01
11. Over The Rainbow (previously unreleased, take 3, alternate) 4:34

Lee Morgan- (Trumpet);
Wynton Kelly- (Piano);
Billy Mitchell- (Tenor Sax);
Billy Root- (Baritone Sax);
Al Grey- (Trombone);
Paul West- (Bass);
Charles Persip- (Drums).


This somewhat obscure Lee Morgan set (originally cut for Specialty and made available on CD in the OJC series) features the trumpeter with other then-current members of the Dizzy Gillespie big band: trombonist Al Grey, tenor saxophonist Billy Mitchell, baritonist Billy Root, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Paul West, and drummer Charlie Persip. With arrangements provided by Benny Golson and Roger Spotts, the music is modern bop for the period. Highlights include the ten-and-a-half-minute "Dishwater," "Over the Rainbow," and what was probably the first-ever version of Golson's "Whisper Not." Morgan plays extremely well throughout the spirited set, and he was just 18 at the time ---Scott Yanow, AMG

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

uploaded yandex 4shared mega solidfiles zalivalka cloudmailru filecloudio oboom



Last Updated (Monday, 12 January 2015 09:47)