Niels Gade - Die Heilige Nacht, Gefion, Zion (1993)

User Rating: / 0

Niels Gade - Die Heilige Nacht, Gefion, Zion (1993)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Niels Gade - Die Heilige Nacht, Gefion, Zion

01. Die Heilige Nacht op.40 - I. Einleitung. Andante    [6:15.10]
02. Die Heilige Nacht op.40 - II. Andantino sostenuto    [5:51.23]
03. Die Heilige Nacht op.40 - III. Moderato. Andante    [5:34.07]
04. Gefion op.54 - I. Allegro maestoso    [3:04.30]
05. Gefion op.54 - II. Animato    [1:57.50]
06. Gefion op.54 - III. Allegro non troppo    [6:12.38]
07. Gefion op.54 - IV. Allegro risoluto    [2:50.20]
08. Gefion op.54 - V. Allegro vivace    [5:01.07]
09. Zion op.49 - I. Introduction. Allegro maestoso    [2:21.73]
10. Zion op.49 - II. Departure from Egypt    [5:10.70]
11. Zion op.49 - III. The Captivity in Babylon    [9:23.65]
12. Zion op.49 - IV. Return - Prophecy of the New Jerusalem    [11:21.50]

Kirsten Dolberg - contralto
Per Høyer - baritone
The Canzone Choir
Aalborg Symphony Orchestra
Frans Rasmussen - conductor


Gade studied violin and composition and became acquainted with Danish poetry and folk music. Both Mendelssohn and Schumann, who were his friends, were attracted by the Scandinavian character of his music. Schumann wrote of him in the Neue Zeitschrift für Musik, and in 1843 Mendelssohn conducted Gade’s first symphony in Leipzig. Gade conducted in Leipzig from 1844 to 1848 and became conductor of the Copenhagen Musical Society in 1850. In 1866 he became a director of the new Copenhagen Conservatory. Gade’s early works, reflecting the spirit of Danish folk tunes, were among the first 19th-century examples of the use of native musical idioms and nationalist themes. Under the influence of Mendelssohn, his later works show greater technical command, often at the expense of the style that had made his earlier works attractive. His compositions include the overtures Echoes from Ossian (published as Opus 1) and In the Highlands; the cantatas Zion, The Crusaders, and Psyche; eight symphonies; three ballets; a violin concerto; a string quartet; and other works.

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett bayfiles