Viotti, Manfredini – Piano Concerto (Felicja Blumental) [1994]

User Rating: / 0

Viotti, Manfredini – Piano Concerto (Felicja Blumental) [1994]

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

Giovanni Battista Viotti - Piano concerto in g-minor
1. Piano Concerto in G minor - I. Allegro maestoso    [0:18:02.47]
2. Piano Concerto in G minor - II. Adagio non troppo    [0:08:19.63]
3. Piano Concerto in G minor - III. Rondo    [0:11:58.27]

Vincenzo Manfredini - Piano concerto in B-flat Major
4. Piano Concerto in B flat major - I. Allegro    [0:05:06.08]
5. Piano Concerto in B flat major - II. Grave    [0:11:06.50]
6. Piano Concerto in B flat major - III. Allegro    [0:08:25.72]

Felicja Blumental - piano
Torino Symphony Orchestra 
Alberto Zedda – conductor  (1-3)
Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg 
Michi Inoue - conductor  (4-6)


This out of print 1994 Dureco Benelux CD holds performances by Felicja Blumental of two piano concertos from 18th-century Italy. Well, the Concerto in G minor of Giovanni Battista Viotti (1755 - 1824) is actually an arrangement by German pianist/composer Daniel Steibelt of Viotti's Violin Concerto . If it seems a dubious notion to shift a work for the lyrical stringed instrument on which it's tough to play more than two notes at a time to a staccato one that can handle several times as many simultaneous notes, let me remind you that no less a composer than Beethoven published a piano version of his own violin concerto! It's true that the pianist's material is much more full of runs and trills than of chords, but Steibelt's version is pretty idiomatic, and the material in this (huge - over 38 minutes!) concerto is pretty in a Mozartean vein. I'm actually more fond of it than the actual piano concerto on the disc, the B-flat Major of Vincenzo Manfredini (1737 - 1799), an early-Classical whose material is far simpler, almost nursery-rhymish at times. In the former concerto Alberto Zedda leads the Torino Symphony Orchestra; in the latter M. Inoue leads the Mozarteum Orchestra of Salzburg. ---

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex 4shared mega mediafire cloudmailru uplea