Roy Buchanan – Dancing On The Edge (1986)

User Rating: / 0

Roy Buchanan – Dancing On The Edge (1986)

01 - Peter Gunn
02 - The Chokin' Kind
03 - Jungle Gym
04 - Drowning On Dry Land
05 - Petal To The Metal
06 - You Can't Judge A Book By The Cover
07 - Cream Of The Crop
08 - Beer Drinking Woman
09 - Whiplash
10 - Baby, Baby, Baby
11 – Matthew

Roy Buchanan - Composer, Guitars, Producer, Vocals
Larry Exum - Bass
Donald Kinsey - Guitars
Delbert McClinton - Vocals
Stan Szelest – Keyboards


The wild and wooly, no-holds-barred version of Henry Mancini's "Peter Gunn" that opens this album reminds that Roy Buchanan is not your average blues-rock axeslinger. With a dazzling arsenal of chops and a tone that can, alternately, slice through granite and float like cumulous clouds, Buchanan's standing as a masterful technician seems to grow with each successive release, and DANCING ON THE EDGE is no exception.

The six instrumental and five vocal tracks here (featuring Texas R&B institution Delbert McClinton), though steeped in traditional blues, push at the limitations of the genre. For example, there's the ear-shattering jump country of "Petal to the Metal" and the expansive surf jam "Jungle Gym." DANCING rocks harder than most of Buch's releases, with the guitarist's sizzling six-stringery (check out the barrelhouse acid boogie of "Whiplash") backed by a crack studio band and McClinton's raw singing (check out "You Can't Judge a Book By the Cover"). Buchanan fans and worshippers of the blues guitar won't be disappointed by this one. ---Rovi

download:   uploaded anonfiles mega 4shared mixturecloud yandex mediafire ziddu


Last Updated (Saturday, 22 June 2013 21:02)