## Paul Butterfield - Original Lost Elektra Session (1964)



- 1. Good Morning Little School Girl 02:23
- 2. Just To Be With You 03:23
- 3. Help Me 02:16
- 4. Hate To See You Go 04:34
- 5. Poor Boy 03:27
- 6. Nut Popper # 1 02:25
- 7. Everything's Gonna Be All Right 02:58
- 8. Lovin' Cup 02:44
- 9. Rock Me 02:52
- 10.- It Hurts Me Too 02:46
- 11.- Our Love Is Driftin' 02:29
- 12.- Take Me Back Baby 02:49
- 13.- Mellow Down Easy 03:06
- 14.- Ain't No Need To Go No Further 02:45
- 15.- Love Her With A Feeling 03:00
- 16.- Piney Brown Blues 02:14
- 17.- Spoonful 03:20
- 18.- That's All Right 03:14
- 19.- Goin' Down Slow 06:02

Musicians: Paul Butterfield (vocals, harmonica); Elvin Bishop (guitar); Mike Bloomfield, Mark Naftalin (keyboards); Jerome Arnold (bass); Sam Lay (drums).

All but one of these 19 tracks were recorded in December, 1964, as Paul Butterfield Blues Band's projected first LP; the results were scrapped and replaced by their official self-titled debut, cut a few months later. With both Michael Bloomfield and Elvin Bishop already in tow, these sessions rank among the earliest blues-rock ever laid down. Extremely similar in feel to the first album, it's perhaps a bit rawer in production and performance, but not appreciably worse or different than what ended up on the actual debut LP. Dedicated primarily to electric Chicago blues standards, Butterfield fans will find this well worth acquiring, as most of the

## Paul Butterfield - Original Lost Elektra Session (1964)

Written by bluesever

Thursday, 29 October 2009 17:29 - Last Updated Wednesday, 12 June 2013 09:12

selections were never officially recorded by the first lineup (although different renditions of five tracks showed up on the first album and the What's Shakin' compilation). ---Richie Unterberger, Rovi

back