Brownie McGhee - The Folkways Years (1959)

User Rating: / 0

Brownie McGhee - The Folkways Years (1959)

Image could not be displayed. Check browser for compatibility.

1 	Daisy 	3:22
2 	Rising Sun 	2:40
3 	Careless Love 	3:13
4 	Cholly Blues 	5:04
5 	Just A Dream 	4:21
6 	Pawn Shop Blues 	3:01
7 	Hangman's Blues 	4:33
8 	Living With The Blues 	2:52
9 	'Fore Day Creep 	4:10
10 	Me And Sonny 	2:47
11 	Raise A Ruckus Tonight 	2:49
12 	Betty And Dupree 	3:59

Brownie McGhee - Guitar, Vocals 
Wilbert Ellis - Piano 
Coyall McMahan - Maracas, Vocals 
Gene Moore - Drums 
Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee - Harmonica, Vocals 


Folkways Years (1945-1959) is a wonderful compilation of Brownie McGhee's Folkways recordings. During this time, McGhee became a staple on the blues-folk revival circuit, and accordingly these recordings find the Piedmont bluesman playing in a folk style, which he excelled at. Many of the most powerful tracks are straight from the rural Piedmont tradition, but the folkier material shows what a rich musician he was. It's an excellent sampler, one that demonstrates the depth and breadth of his Folkways recordings. ---Thom Owens, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @192 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto gett