## Lazy Lester - All Over You (1999)

Lazy Lester - All Over You (1999)



1 I Need Money (Keep Your Alibis) 4:05 2 The Sun Is Shining 5:19 3 Strange Things Happen 3:34 4 If You Think I've Lost You (Secret Weapon) 3:45 5 I'm A Lover Not A Fighter 3:09 6 Irene 3:44 7 You're Gonna Ruin Me Baby 3:36 8 Nothing But The Devil 3:10 9 I Made Up My Mind 3:56 10 Hello Mary Lee 3:57 11 Tell Me Pretty Baby 2:40 12 My Home Is A Prison 3:01 Bass – Sarah Brown (tracks: 1 to 6, 7, 9, 10) Drums – Mike Bucks (tracks: 1 to 7, 9 to 11) Guitar – Derek O'Brien (tracks: 1 to 7, 9 to 11), Sue Foley (tracks: 1, 2, 5, 10) Harmonica, Guitar, Vocals – Lazy Lester Piano – Gene Taylor (tracks: 6)

The last time Lester released an album was 1988's Harp & Soul on Alligator, an uneven affair. This 1999 effort for Antone's is a vast improvement with producer Derek O'Brien providing linchpin guitar support and fronting a band that includes stellar contributions from Mike Buck on drums and Sarah Brown on bass. Although the intervening years have added a bit of rust to Lester's vocal chops, the added graininess just enhances the performances of old chestnuts like "Strange Things Happening," "If You Think I've Lost You," "Irene," "I'm a Lover, Not a Fighter," "I Need Money," and "The Sun Is Shining." The classic Excello is called on for most of the album but the big surprise comes with two solo performances by Lester, singing and playing guitar on Lightnin' Slim's "Nothing but the Devil" and Lonesome Sundown's "My Home Is a Prison." His most cohesive album since his first for Excello. --Cub Koda, AllMusic Review

download (mp3 @320 kbs):

yandex mediafire ulozto solidfiles global-files

## Lazy Lester - All Over You (1999)

back